My ear plug head phones

When I was adventuring around Lake Charles ,La and also in Milwaukee WI, I was in possession of only what would fit in my back pack. This is when I discovered that music was what made my days better and I listened to it 24 hours a day. I had a mix for everything. In almost any environment it seems I tend to survive and the first step in a city is usually to secure an income. As it turns out – most places that fit my skill sets don’t allow head phones but require earplugs.

The idea was born. I started to seek out the smallest ear buds I could find and routed the cords down the back of my shirt and to my pocket where they would be connected to my music player. I tested markers, paints, and different methods for making matching wires that would appear to be earplug cords. I took apart headphones and used epoxy molds to make the earplug shapes. I buried electronics inside hollowed out earplugs and these methods worked for over 10 years.

2013-05-23_08-33-48_169

While my coworkers were having miserable days listening to machines and thinking about misery and jobs they hated – I was loving life and having a great time while giving out top notch performance thanks to my own personal soundtrack. As my life evolved and pay scales tripled, this method still serves me well.

Now I buy my headphone / earplugs online for about 20$ and that actually saves me a tremendous amount of time and money but the concept still serves me quite well to this day.

Today at work as my boss was giving me a speech, I could hear the Front Line Assembly song in the background. When I was operating a crane, Entering data on a touch screen, and washing ink off my hands with explosive chemicals, there was music. Sweeping can be fun with a good tune in the background.

Out of all the discoveries in my life, perhaps the effect of music making hard work enjoyable has benefited me the most.

Leave a Reply

