Just a monkey

 Today I was reassigned to a job that I think a monkey could do. In the process I looked at the machines and my mind disassembled them and figured out the placement of sensors and computer controls while looking for design flaws. There was a tremendous amount of wasted steps and movements among the various jobs. Much twisting, bending, and walking that is not really required.

 As the machine went down several times, I noticed there was a mindset of just try it again. There was no taking notes or seeking solutions for repeated problems and when it came time for shift change – the same problems just carried along. 4 hours of production in a 12 hour shift. There seems to be quite a few company problems but the monkey will just continue to do the monkey job. I made my own notes and perhaps they will help me one day.

Leave a Reply

